How Long? Not Long! The 4.20.10 Mix


Here is 11 tracks with over a half-hour of marijuana culture in one delicious, fat, blunt-sized mix…

Listen To This Sound Collage

Get the Flash Player to see the wordTube Media Player.

How Long? Not Long!

As someone who’s watched the long drama of the drug war for over 27 years, I can’t help but feel the time is getting near… the end of this fiasco is in sight.

The last push to end this unjust, immoral and racist prohibition of marijuana is upon us, and I hear the voice of freedom saying “How Long? Not Long!” I hope I’m not too optimistic in saying, “This is the year we legalize it…”

This sound collage is dedicated to three medical marijuana activists – Charles “Chuck” Witt, Jack Herer and Josh Howard (the heart and soul of our medical marijuana collective – AAC, Apothecary’s Assistant’s Collective in Long Beach, California)

Who’s In This Mix?

In this mix you’ll hear expert advice on the meaning of 420, how to smoke a joint, get a lesson in marijuana etiquette, listen to some great marijuana stories along with various other entertaining sound clips including:

  • Steve Hager – editor of High Times Magazine being interviewed by ABC news – track 1, 3, 6, 7, 9
  • Martin Luther King Jr. – that great voice providing the title How Long? Not Long! – track 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11
  • Bob Marley – from an interview in 1979 – track 3, 6, 11
  • Jack Herer – the legendary marijuana and hemp activist who smoked his first joint in 1969 – track 2, 7
  • Charles “Chuck” Wittmedical marijuana patient from Signal Hill/Long Beach – track 6
  • The Fugs – a strange bit of marijuana Gregorian chanting – track 7
  • Vincent Schiavelli – “This is a joint…” – from the 1971 film Taking Off – track 4, 5, 7
  • Cypress Hill – loops and samples from Hits From The Bong – track 3, 6
  • Shel Silverstein – using the stoner classic The Great Smoke Off – track 8, 9
  • The Fraternity of Man – “don’t Bogart that joint, my friend…” – track 5
  • Lee “Scratch” PerrySin Semilla Kaya Dub –  track 4
  • Val Lerch – former city council member and vice mayor of Long Beach – track 8
  • Meat Beat Manifesto – from an MP3 I’ve had for a long time called Pot Sounds, and that’s all I know about it – track 7
  • The Clash – sampled loops from Time is Tight and Justice Tonight/Kick It Over, both from Super Black Market Clash – track 1, 9
  • Pink Floyd – sampled loop from Hey You – track 2
  • Neil Young – “Homegrown’s alright with me…” – track 1, 2, 11
  • and your host, the Captain of the UFOverdriver – Jon, onehumanbeing – track 2, 4, 6, 11

Track List

1. The Homegrown Holiday – 1:41

“Homegrown’s alright with me, homegrown is the way it should be…”

“Today is April 20th, and for some of you that may mean something…”

We begin the mix by contrasting the homegrown nature of the marijuana subculture with the curious media’s questions, while The Clash provide a looping guitar rift from Time is Tight and the words of Martin Luther King, Jr. call out the title and theme of this sound collage – How Long? Not Long!

2. This Is The Captain Speaking – 2:30

This is the Captain speaking – welcome aboard my ship… the UFOverdriver is a subconscious powered vehicle of ultra-sonic dimensions.

We’ll be flying at 72,000 feet tonight…

3. Listen To Bob Marley – 2:58

I used to drive by a parked car all the time with a bumper sticker that said “Listen To Bob Marley”, and I would think to myself, “That’s a good idea…” I haven’t seen that car in a while, but I thought about it when I was working on this mix.

This track, in particular, is dedicated to my friend Josh…

4. This Is A Joint – 3:18

Have you ever wondered, how do you smoke a joint properly?

There is a correct way to do it to fully experience the effects of the herb, and as a special 420 service, UFOverdriver would like to help clear any confusion by presenting some accurate information on the subject.

Here’s some expert advice from Vincent Schiavelli from the 1971 (the same year that 4-20 was born) film called Taking Off. If you haven’t seen this film I recommend it – it’s a great snapshot of the times…

The background track is an instrumental track by Lee “Scratch” Perry called Sin Semilla Kaya Dub.

5. Light The Joint – 2:43

Smoke along with Vincent Schiavelli to the sounds of the marijuana classic by The Fraternity of Man called Don’t Bogart Me

6. Witts From The Bong – 3:37

This track features Charles “Chuck” Witt – a terminal cancer patient who was a member of our collective. The recording I used is from his appearance with us at the Signal Hill city council meeting in the summer of 2009 to help us try and save our collective from being shut down. You can read more about it here: (this link takes you to our medical marijuana collective’s website)

Chuck Witt passed away on October 30th, 2009 after an eight year battle with brain cancer. Our collective provided free medical marijuana to him for the last six months of his life. He told us several times that he wished he could do more for the movement – so I decided to memorialize him in this mix – we (the collective) miss him very much…

The background music is a stoner classic by Cypress Hill called Hits From The Bong. I’ve loved this song since I first heard it back it the early 90’s after I read about Cypress Hill in High Times Magazine.

About the name and song choice: Cypress Hill/Signal Hill – Hits/Witts… get it?

7. The Legend of Jack Herer – 6:00

This track celebrates marijuana/hemp activist Jack Herer, who passed away on April 15th at the age of 70. This happened while I was in the middle of creating this sound collage so I re-mixed it to include this memorial to him.

In the background is The Fugs and Meat Beat Manifesto.

8. The Voice Of Reason – 1:01

That “voice of reason” is our former Long Beach city council member and Vice-Mayor Val Lerch.

This sound clip is from a city council meeting in November 2009 as they were trying to work out a medical marijuana ordinance to regulate the collectives and dispensaries in our city.

9.  What’s So Special About The Number 420? – 2:22

What is the real story of 420? Steve Hager, the editor of High Times magazine enlightens us with sound clips taken from a 2007 interview with ABC news accompanied by a sampled loop from The Clash song Justice Tonight/Kick It Over

10. The Great Smoke Off - 6:37

A classic marijuana story by Shel Silverstein recorded back in the 70’s. I first heard the original recording back in the late 70’s on the Dr. Demento show on KMET, 94.7 FM – the legendary Southern California FM radio station. I listened to the show faithfully every week on Sunday night when I was a teenager…

11. That’s All I Have To Say – 1:07

One of the many services provided…

UFOverdriver wishes you a safe and happy 420!

Total Running Time – 33:50

FREE MP3 Download

Click below to download a Zip file containing all separate 11 Tracks from this sound collage.

Unzip the files on your hard drive and add the tracks to your iPod or other portable audio device. You can also burn your own CD if you like – all tracks are high quality 320 kbs MP3s.

Enjoy, reflect and pass it on – do not Bogart this mix…

Right Click Here : | 72 Mb

Happy 420 from UFOverdriver